February 22, 2019

Recognition Awards: Celebrating Staff Excellence

This morning, Northern Health hosted our second Quarterly Staff Recognition Awards ceremony.

These awards have been designed to formally recognise outstanding contributions by our employees and celebrate staff excellence.

Northern Health Chief Executive, Siva Sivarajah, presented the awards to this round of recipients.

“We have over 5,000 staff in a wide range of areas, dedicated to providing great care for our patients and we would like to reward their hard work and commitment to patients,” Siva said.

In this round of awards, a new category was introduced – Clinical Excellence. This new category was recommended as part of our ‘High Reliability Organisation – Trusted Care’ work.

The Clinical Excellence award recognises a team or individual that is generous with knowledge, instills confidence in patients and colleagues, and achieves the best patient outcomes.

In October last year, the award ceremony was held for the first time, and six staff were recognised for their achievements. Last year’s winners success stories were shared on iNews, profiling their Northern experience and dedication.

In this round of awards, 24 nominations were received, and the judging panel had a difficult task in deciding the winners because of the high standard of entries.

And the winners are…

Clinical Excellence: Jimmy Goulis, Physiotherapist

Patient Experience: Katherine Healy, Dietitian

Excellence in Safety: Melanie Riseley, Maternity Services Educator

Innovation: Barbara Hayes, Clinical Leader – Advance Care Planning

Above and Beyond: Michelle Robins, Nurse Practitioner, Diabetes

Rising Star: Alysha Spencer, Advisor, Organisational Capability

Siva said, “These are staff who exemplify a strong and positive workplace culture – and commitment to our patients.”

Northern Health would like to congratulate all the winners and thank our nominators, their teams, and our generous sponsors, BankVic and Maxxia. The winners will feature on iNews in the coming weeks.

Photo (left to right: Alysha Spencer, Melanie Riseley, Katherine Healy, Barbara Hayes, Michelle Robins, Flo Zimmermann accepting award on behalf of Jimmy Goulis)